William and Joseph Hutton were the original owners of the Victorian mansion. The Hutton brothers built the main house, now called the Manor, along the Thames River in 1867. These industrious gentlemen also left their mark with six other limestone buildings in the town of St. Marys, which has since earned the nickname "Stonetown".
Catholic Church acquired the estate in the 1930's and operated it as a
seminary. It was during this period that the red brick dormitory
with 22 small rooms were built off the main house. During the 1970's
the seminary was sold to a group of families experimenting with communal
living. The property was again purchased in 1985 and 20 months were
spent renovating the Victorian mansion, the dormitory and constructing the
The Westover Inn began welcoming guests in 1987. The Inn has three buildings available to its guests. The original Manor boasts five charming second floor guestrooms and one luxurious suite complete with whirlpool. All rooms in the Manor are different shapes with original moldings and 11-foot ceilings. The Manor also houses the Inn's dining rooms, lounge and meeting room. The Terrace, which served as the church's dormitory, sits on a gentle rise overlooking the Manor and holds twelve guestrooms. Finally, the Thames Cottage is nestled in the trees and offers privacy and luxury in its two suites and two guestrooms. All of the Cottage rooms overlook the teahouse with its surrounding gardens.
300 Thomas Street, St. Marys,
Ontario, Canada N4X 1B1